Tips and Maps

Key Facts
Facts about Gauteng
Climate
Weather
Nature
Time Differences

Key Facts


Currency: South African Rand and cents
Currency Denominations: Notes: R200, R100, R50, R20, R10. Coins: R5, R2, R1, R0.50, R0.20, R0.10, R0.05
Exchange Rate (as at Sep, 2013) GBP = 1 to R15.67 USD =1 to R9.94 EURO = 1 to R13.19
Currency Converter

Currency converter

Loading currency converter

Please wait
....

Government Democracy
President Jacob Zuma
Eleven Official languages: English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, Zulu, Xhosa, Sesotho, Setswana, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Siswati, Sesotho sa Leboa)
Most common languages: English, Afrikaans, Xhosa and Zulu
Area: 1 221 037 sq metres (the size of Germany, France and Italy together)
Coastline: 3 000 Kms long
Biggest cities: Johannesburg, Cape Town, Durban
Population: 52 million (2011 Census)
Most common religion: Christianity
Provinces: Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Free State, North-West, Gauteng, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Kwa-Zulu Natal
Government: (form of state) Constitutional Democracy with a federally structured central government and nine provincial governments
Legal system: Based on Roman Dutch Law and 1996 constitution. Based on 3 systems: A Civil law system inherited from the Dutch, a common law system inherited from the British, and a customary law system inherited from indigenous Africans (often termed African Customary Law).
Export: Gold/minerals/diamonds/metals and metal products/foods
Import: Machinery/transport equipment/manufactured goods/chemicals/oil
Main trading partners: Germany/USA/UK/Japan
Economy: SA has more cars, cell phones, auto banks and industrial facilities than all of the rest of Africa
Main economic sectors: Mining, manufacturing, financial services and tourism
Highest point: Mont Aux Sources in the Drakensberg
Climate: Summer rainfall area, except in Western Cape
Spring/Summer: September to April
Autumn/Winter: May to August
Best time to visit: Sept/Oct and Apr/May
Time: GMT + 2
International dialing code: +27
Computicket: National electronic booking service for cinemas, theatres, buses, sporting events, website: www.computicket.com
Conversions: Distances are given in kilometers (1 mile = 1.62 kilometres) and temperatures are given in degrees Celsius (20 degrees C = 68 degrees F)
Current: 220/240 volts at 50 cycles per second
Etiquette: Some restaurants and clubs are formal / Topless swimming not allowed
Fishing: Most popular – 250 species of fish in Southern Africa
Golf: 300 registered courses
Drinking: Tap water is safe to drink
Alcohol: For over 18’s and may not be consumed in public areas. The legal blood limit is 0.05mg per 100ml.

Return to TOP

Facts about Gauteng


  • It is the financial and industrial heartland
  • It is the most densely populated province
  • It generates (33.7%) 37% of GDP
  • It has 70% of the labour force
  • It performs 60% of the country’s research and developments
  • Johannesburg is the provincial capital and Pretoria, the admin capital
  • Soweto is the largest black city in South Africa
  • Most Afrikaans, Zulu and English speakers
  • It has a population of 12 million (as per 2011 Census)
  • It has an area of 17 010 square kilometres
Return to TOP

Climate


Spring Summer Autumn Winter
C F C F C F C F
Cape Town 20 68 25 77 22 72 17 63
Durban 23 73 27 80 25 77 22 72
Johannesburg 23 73 25 77 21 70 17 63
Port Elizabeth 20 68 24 75 22 72 19 66
Bloemfontein 25 77 29 84 22 72 17 63

Return to TOP
Weather

It is easiest to check for all weather updates throughout South Africa by visiting: South African weather service website

Nature


The Big5
Lion, leopard, elephant, rhino, buffalo.

Marine Big5
Whale, shark, dolphin, marlin, tuna.

SA is home to:

  • World’s largest land mammal (African elephant)
  • Smallest (shrew – size of human a finger tip)
  • Tallest (giraffe)
  • Fastest (cheetah)
  • Heaviest reptile (leatherback turtle)
  • Largest antelope (eland)
  • Largest bird (ostrich)
  • Heaviest flying bird (koni bustard)
  • 900 bird species – 10% of the world’s variety and 1% of its land area
  • 232 200 different plants
Return to TOP

Time Differences


San Francisco 02:00 Johannesburg 12:00
New York 05:00 Moscow 13:00
Buenos Aires 07:00 New Delhi 15:30
London 10:00 Bangkok 18:00
Berlin 11:00 Tokyo 19:00
Sydney 20:00

Return to TOP